In the last 6 months we have seen 3 different customers who have lost ALL their photos. These were, as they put it to us, on their ‘Backup device’. So how did they lose their photos?
Well, the problem is that while they had put the photos on their backup device, they had then deleted them off the computer. At this point, the backup has stopped being the backup and become the originals!
These originals are now NOT located in the relative safety of the computer, which is looked after and treated with care. Instead they are in a small box that is picked up, moved about, put down with lot less care than a computer or laptop.
We cannot stress enough that your photos, documents and videos should be kept on your computer or laptop and these external devices should be used to keep only a copy of these items i.e. a backup.